The day that I started my Natural Hair Journey.

A lot of people have different reasons for cutting their hair and deciding and letting there locs grow. Some people say that its just a trend, others say that they were tired of the chemical process that they were putting their hair trough. Honestly, for me, it was more of a spiritual move. I have been talked about and teased for a long time because of my appearance. I have always been bigger than other girls and my skin has always been darker. Once I started to love myself and to stop looking in magazines and ads, I realized that I was made in God’s image. No one in this world looks like me and I am so proud to say that. Each individual strand of my hair has its own curl pattern and each curl is different. To me, having my hair In its natural state makes me stand out. Some people laugh and call my hair nappy, but that doesn’t bother me any more. I love my coils.

The day that I cut my hair of was in April 2016. I had just washed and put a deep conditioner on my hair. When I got out of the shower, my hair was so flat and just completely damaged. The treatment did absolutely nothing for my hair. At that time, I was about 4 or 5 months post relaxer, so I had a little “new growth”. When I looked at my curly new growth full of life and my dead limp strands, it was an easy decision to make. I picked up my scissors and cut every single piece of straight hair that I had on my head. I cut about 10 to 12 inches of hair that day. My hair was so short that I think it went into a state of shock. My curls were not as curly as I wanted them to be. Some of my coils looked as if they ceased up. For the first few month, I washed and deep conditioned my hair every two weeks. I kept my hair pushed back with a broken hair tie.

After months of trying different products at different prices points, my hair finally began to go through a dramatic change. My curls began to show more definition and a lot of bounce. I watched YouTube videos about to revert my curls and I must say that those video really helped me a lot. Its been a little over a year now since I’ve cut my hair and I have definitely had my ups and downs with my strands. I still have yet to find products that I really like. If any of you all reading this have any suggestions please comment the name of the company so that I can test them out.  Also comment any question or concerns that you have and if you would be interested in my wash day routine.

Leave a Reply

